N. Alagappan

May 04 2015

Views: 549

He has worked as Cinematographer in doordarshan for 16 years. Operation Bluestar in Golden Temple of Amritsar was picturised by Alagappan. He entered into film industry in Tamil film ‘Enpriyam’ in 1982. His entered into Malayalam film through Sunderdas’s ‘Sammanam’ in 1997. He has worked for famous TV Serials like Naluketu, Manjukalam Mohicha Penkutti, Maranam Durbalam. He got six State Awards in Film and Television Field.

Important Events:

World cup Table Tennis held in New Delhi.
World cup Cricket held in India.
Operation Blue Star in Punjab and participated in many valuable events in sports, non function and News events.

Documentary & Non fiction:

‘shahjahanabad’ produced by National Archeological Survey of India in 1998.
Video Brochure on Kerala Livestock Development Board 1996.
Video Brochure on tourism on veli-Aakkulam tourist Village for stark communication
Documentaries for Central Tuber Crops Research Institute, India 1994.

International Participation:

Accompanied with the Vice President of India Shri. K.R. Narayanan, Official visit to U.K-1993.
UNICEF Children’s programme for the Govt. of Bangladesh – 1998.
Visit to Kuwait for a discussion about Television Media.
Sub Regional in Television Production for Development Programmes in SRI LANKA (for Asia Pacific Institute for Board Casting Development)


As Director of Photography:

Oreykadal Sammanam
Vasanthiyuam Lekshimiyum Pinne Nyanum Salute
Mizhi Randilum
Achuvinte Amma
Rasathanthram Prajapathy
Chottai mumbai
Irumbu kottai murattu singam
Thalapav bum bum bole
Arabi Ottakam
Ozhi Muri
Pattam Pole

As Director:

Non fiction – many commercial advertisement films, Documentaries and Corporate Films
Fiction – ANNA Teleserial for Kairali Television – won 8 kerala state awards
The Salute (Feature Film in Malayalam)
Pattam Pole (2013)


For Television:

1993 – Uyarthezhunnelpu
1996 – Maranam Durbalam
1997 – Ganitham
1998 – Thottangal
2002 – Best Serial of the year ‘Anna’
National Onida Pinnacle Award for Best Cameraman – 1995: Nilavariyunnu
Nana Award for Best Cameraman: 5 years consecutively since 1987 Centre for Media Studies Award for Best Cameraman – 1997: Maranam Durbalam.
Film Critic Award for 2002 – Best Director – Anna; Best Cameraman – Anna

For Movies:

Kerala State Award for Best Cinematography 1998Agnisakshi.
Kerala Film Critics Association Award for Best Cinematography 1998 – Agnisakshi.
Mathrubhumi – Medimix Award 2000 for best cinematography (Vasanthiyum Lekshmiyum Pinee Nyannum).
Film Critics Association Award for Best Cinematography – Nandanam.
Mathrubhumi Medimix Award 2002 – Nandanam.
Asianet Award 2004 Kazhcha.
Vanitha Award 2006 – Rasathantram.
Mathrubhumi film Award 2006 – Rasathanram.
Kala keralam Award 2006 – Rasathantram
Malayalam Movie Award 2007 [AMMA] – Ore kadal. Jeevan TV Film Award 2007 – Photographer.
Film Critic Award for 2007 – Ore kadal.
SICA Award 2007 – Ore kadal
Film Critics Award 2012 – Ozhi Muri.



Diploma in Cinematography Institute of Film Technology Adayar chennai,Tamil Nadu.
Certificate program in Basic Television Production and Technical Operation from Film an Television Institute pune,india.
Sub-Regional Television production for Development Programmes in Sri Lanka Television Training Institute Colombo (AsiaPacific Institute for Broadcasting Development).
Master of Arts (Political Science) Mysore University.